NYC, how I love thee…

20200307_095430.jpg
NYC morning, near Penn Station.

I am a small town girl. But, I love New York.

Each spring, I take a group of seniors to Manhattan for a whirlwind 3 day, 2 night tour.

This year, we were lucky.

We left the day the first case of Covid-19 was reported in Manhattan. And believe me, I was holding my breath for the next two weeks hoping none of the 19 seniors showed any symptoms. When March 24 rolled around, I finally relaxed. We had hit the 14-day mark.

But, as I sit safely back in my small town, my thoughts and prayers go out to those in Manhattan dealing with the outbreak.

Everyday when I watch the news, NYC seems, well… ill. Today, I went through my photos of the early March trip to remember just how vibrant and colorful the city really is – and will be again. Hopefully soon.

What is it about NYC?

I know it’s dirty. But, it’s also beautiful.

Yes, it’s crowded. But, the people-watching is spectacular.

The food – of course. The skyline – definitely.

But, I think what I like most about NYC is that I can walk around – all day – and never tire of the neighborhoods, the views, the smells (the good ones) wafting from the opening doors of restaurants.

20200305_160052.jpg
They love just sitting in Central Park and climbing the rocks for, you know, the perfect selfies. Seriously, though. Through their eyes, every trip to NYC is a first trip.

Through the eyes of my students…

I like seeing Manhattan through the eyes of my students. Some love it. Some hate it. But, all are glad they visited, in the end.

On the first day they stay pretty close to me. We get the lay of the land.

Their eyes are big and wide as we navigate trains, buses and subways to get from Newark or LaGuardia to 34th & Herald Square-ish. The last two years, with the construction in Queens around LGA, it has been an adventure.

As we lug our carry-ons up the stairs and emerge from the subway, we all just stand there. They are looking up, taking in the skyscrapers. I, well, I am trying to get my bearings on Google Maps and figure out which direction we are facing.

My kids aren’t sheltered small town kids. Well, most aren’t. They travel. Most have been to Chicago. They may have been to NYC before, or Dallas, D.C., Los Angeles, San Francisco, Miami, Indianapolis, St. Louis…

A few have been to Mexico City, Paris, London, Rome…

But, when you come up out of the subway… it’s just different in Manhattan.

In and out (though we prefer Shake Shack)

20200305_130605.jpg
A Parisian lunch. Tartinery, Grand Central Station.

We leave home in the middle of the night and catch one of the first flights of the morning to NYC, so that by lunch – hopefully – we’re heading towards 42nd St..

Day 1’s agenda: lunch at Grand Central Station (where all 19 stomachs can be satisfied), NY Public Library – 42nd St., Bryant Park, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Times Square, Central Park, dinner at 5 Napkin.
Day 1 totals: 30,000 steps / 13.7 miles. (No need to regret that gorgeous 5 Napkin burger.)

20200305_191645.jpg
Um, hello lover. The Truffle Burger at 5 Napkin (Hell’s Kitchen): taleggio, house made porcini ketchup, fried egg, black & white truffle butter. Oh, I did have some amazing Brussels sprouts, too. But seriously. Look at that burger.

Day 2: leave the hotel around 8:30, subway from Herald Square down to the Staten Island Ferry, across the river with views of the Manhattan skyline and the Statue of Liberty, walk back up Whitehall to Broadway, the Bull (where yes, we all take turns rubbing the testicles because these kids have college to pay for), up to Trinity Church, over to Wall St., the NYSE, the Defiant Girl, Old Federal Hall, on to St. Paul’s Chapel, everyone on their own for lunch, meet back at the Oculus or the 9/11 Museum, tour the museum, contemplate the WTC Memorials, walk to City Hall and onto the Brooklyn Bridge, then back to the subway to change for dinner at Carmine’s (family style is a great way to feed teenage boys), Times Square at night.

20200306_211518.jpg
Nom, nom, pasta. Carmine’s, Times Square. Feeding the kids family style is the only way to go, though they are often disappointed to learn Alfredo is not authentic Italian.

Day 2 totals: 27,000 steps / 12.6 miles. (Carmine’s? Pshaw… not even a problem.)

Day 3: Ah… Day 3. Well, we get up, pack up, and store our luggage. Then we head to the 42nd St. library where we skedaddle into little groups everywhere to check out the places we wish we had had more time at. That’s when I walk back down 5th and make my way to Penn Station to buy our tickets for an afternoon train to catch a flight out of Newark, then wander and take photos and grab lunch on my own. Don’t worry, the kids always come back.
Day 3 totals: 28,500 steps / 13.5 miles.

There’s more to see…

While I love NYC, I am sad to say I have never been without students. There is so much more I want to do and see.

20200305_125100.jpg
Grand Central Station, with the Chrysler Building in the background. I still need to walk that background.
  • Enjoy a drink and long lunch at Balthazar, window shop in Soho.
  • Flatiron Building, High Line and The Vessel.
  • Check out the skyline from Top of the Rock.
  • Walk all the way across the Brooklyn Bridge.
  • Wander through Washington Square Park, NYU.
  • The West Village, of course, for atmosphere.
  • Upper West Side, for a different vibe, and just to say I went to Zabar’s.
  • Actually make it past the Bethesda Fountain in Central Park. I could easily spend a whole day in the park alone.
  • Return to Arthur Ave. in the Bronx. I may need to drive to NYC, because I know my shopping habits. I would buy more ingredients and pantry items than I should fly home.
  • Brooklyn – the iconic brownstones, the Botanic Garden.
  • Tea at the Plaza hotel. Well, wine. At tea time.
  • Wander Little Italy and Chinatown just smelling, and grazing. (Students just don’t appreciate the wandering like I do.)
  • Art museums – hello. But only on the dreary days. When it’s sunny and warm, I am outside.

I’m taking suggestions…
What are your must-sees and must-dos in NYC?

Leave a comment